The Art of Crossing Cultures, Building Bridges

Vance Elementary fifth-grader Avante Carson helps analyze a photograph with photographer Carrie Wagner during class Tuesday morning. Students discussed photographs from Wagner's book, "Village Wisdom, Immersed in Uganda, Inspired by Job, Changed for Life," as part of Asheville City Schools' Foundation teaching artists program.Vance Elementary fifth-grader Avante Carson helps analyze a photograph with photographer Carrie Wagner during class Tuesday morning. Students discussed photographs from Wagner’s book, “Village Wisdom, Immersed in Uganda, Inspired by Job, Changed for Life,” as part of Asheville City Schools’ Foundation teaching artists program. / John Fletcher/jfletcher@citizen-times.com
 
 
Article in Asheville Citizen Times:  http://www.citizen-times.com/article/20111026/LIVING/310260010/Teaching-artist-program-expands-Asheville-schools?odyssey=nav|head
 

This article captures a part of my work that I love most. When asked what I do, I have a heck of a time giving a 2 minute elevator speech. My website and business card read, “Photographer, Author, Educator, Speaker.” Those are all things I do. But the real question is what is my personal mission? What cause am I committed to making a contribution  in this world of great need. This is a question I ask of my various audiences. My answer to that question is:

I am committed to planting seeds for global citizenship.  My life has encompassed incredible opportunities to engage in many cultures and places around the world. 3 years in Uganda, 3 years in South Africa, 5 years in International Training for Habitat for Humanity International, travel to over 25 countries,  – all have given me an appreciation for the gifts of wisdom nestled in every culture. My experiences  have also given me a deeper understanding of core values. While I’m thankful for my college education, I place higher value on the lessons I have learned through experience. Embracing diversity, I create opportunities that empower individuals to grow into their own global citizenship. I do this by designing and delivering presentations and workshops –  for learning communities and for those who have civic and global service at heart.  Sharing my life lessons through writing, photography and telling stories is what I do best. Inspiring youth to see the potential for their contribution to the world and seeing their sparks of curiosity make my work fulfilling. I am sometimes called a visual artist, an inter-culturalist, or an international educator, depending on the task at hand. I call myself a global cultural artist.

(This is only a one minute speech). You can get the rest of the details from my website, www.carriewagner.com

This week I had the pleasure of crossing cultures and building bridges between a 5th grade class in Asheville and a community in Uganda. This part of my work is most fulfilling. To hear curiosity, see enthusiasm, and feel compassion from young hearts and minds is the greatest gift I receive in the work that I do. Here is a link to a feature article in the Asheville Citizen Times about my art residency this week.

http://www.citizen-times.com/article/20111026/LIVING/310260010/Teaching-artist-program-expands-Asheville-schools?odyssey=nav|head

An excerpt from the article:       At Vance Elementary, photographer Carrie Wagner is working with Molly Dennehy’s class on a diversity and global appreciation project. Through creative writing, analysis of photographs and journals of Ugandan students, the fifth graders are exploring cultural bias…“This is my first experience with TAPAS program and it has been wonderful,” Dennehy said. “Carrie has made the idea of global awareness real to my students. They are exploring ideas about how different other cultures may be, but how similar as well.

About Carrie Wagner

Author, Photographer, Speaker, Educator
This entry was posted in Articles, Crossing Cultures, Cultural Artist, Global Citizenship and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

