Spirit of Uganda

What’s right for Uganda at this point in time? I certainly don’t have that answer; I can only pray for the right outcome. What I do know about Uganda is that it’s people exhibit a spirit of hope, joy and faith. These are spiritual qualities that can’t be described or defined by socio-economic, political, or religious statistics. One can only “feel” these traits through relationships with the people. I often describe our Ugandan friends to American audiences. My stories include the words, “genuine hospitality, community-oriented, inherent joy amidst hardships, resilience, perseverence…” The way I describe Job Malighee in my chapter A Man Named Job equates his qualities to the fruits of the spirit described in the Bible by Paul in Galatians 5:22.   “The love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control described by Paul are qualities resulting from seeds planted by the Holy Spirit. They are not rewards for good deeds. Even church critics or people from other faiths would find these qualities alluring…” Whether the qualities I have witnessed in Ugandans result from a history of struggle and strife, or whether they are truly blessings from the Holy Spirit, is not a fact I have to know: my own faith allows me to appreciate that the country is blessed and that the people have many lessons to offer the world at large. 

For more information about the election and political situation in Uganda, see this Washington Post article. http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2011/02/18/AR2011021800653.html

About Carrie Wagner

Author, Photographer, Speaker, Educator
This entry was posted in Global Citizenship, Village Wisdom Excerpts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

