Authentic Friendship

I remember the first time she brought me pink peonies for my birthday. I was turning 35. Then when I left South Africa two years later, we said “We’ll meet again…let’s shoot for 5 years”. It’s been nearly 9 years since I have seen Lize Marie, but our reunion actually happened. A business trip to the states brought my dear friend to visit me this past weekend. Wow – no words to describe the joy, the nostalgia, the authentic friendship that crosses two oceans and spans eternity. Just two weeks ago, I also re-connected with a friend I haven’t seen since high school (two decades have passed) and another from college who I haven’t seen since.  The “Art of Re” is taking me on a re-connecting path this year and it is a grand ride. I cherish so many friends who scatter the globe – a lesson learned from each, an inspiration gained and more memories than I can tell.  The excerpt below is from my chapter called Authentic Friendship.

About Carrie Wagner

Author, Photographer, Speaker, Educator
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Village Wisdom Excerpts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

